top of page

What Do You Do?

What do you do ? Sound like such a simple question.  A mom at Tyler's school very politely asked "So, what do you do?"

I ran through my day in my head. It was 3:30 and I had gotten both kids out of bed, made breakfast, packed lunch for Ty, ironed his uniform, dressed him, dressed Olivia, packed Ty and the babies in the car, dropped Ty at school,  went home with the 2 babies,  did an art project, cleaned the art project,  napped 1 baby, cleaned the kitchen, started 1 load of laundry, made the babies lunch, fed the babies lunch,  cleaned the kitchen, sang songs, cleaned one too many Pampers, packed a snack for Ty,  drove to school and I now I was finally at school ready to get Tyler.

As she smiled and asked "So, what is it you do?" I replied with "Oh, I'm just a stay at home mom."

JUST? Why did I say JUST? It just came out of my mouth that way. I've been a stay at home mom for a year and a half now. Before that I was a teacher for 6 years.  It's been so hard to switch my mindset from a "working" mom to a stay at home mom. 

I realize sometimes I feel embarrassed to say what I do. Then I get pissed when people put down what I do. How can I get mad at others for thinking my job is "less" when I myself talk about it using words like "just"? 

I need to do better.  This phase in my life won't last forever.  My kids and nieces/nephews will grow up and I will have to find something else to answer to the question "What do you do?"

For now, I am not JUST a stay at home mom. 

I am a mom.

I am a caretaker.

I am a chef.

I am a cleaning lady. 

I am a chauffer. 

I am an accountant sticking to budgets.

I am a teacher.

I have 0 days off.

I have no sick days or vacation. 

I pee with an audience 90%of the time.

I am a source of comfort.

I am home. 

So, what do I do? I do it all and it is time I feel proud of me the same way I feel so proud of all my career driven friends. We got this ladies. Whatever you do, do it 100% and next time someone asks you, answer proudly!

Single Post: Blog_Single_Post_Widget

Thanks for submitting!

bottom of page