top of page

I Can (not) Buy Myself Flowers


Ok, maybe that wasn't the best title seeing as I buy myself flowers all the time but you'll see where I am going with all this in a minute.

Lately there have been an explosion of women empowerment songs on the radio. From Shakira's record breaking sessi0n bashing her ex to Miley Cyrus proclaiming she does not need anyone to buy her flowers. I am not going to lie, I have played both these songs on repeat and sang full volume. Having been someone that has had not the best luck in love, I see exactly where these women are coming from BUT there is another piece that I think we are missing.


Sure, I can buy myself flowers and take myself dancing but the truth is....I don't want to. Maybe I am just sappy. Maybe I will believe in romance till the day I die but I do not think we were created to do these kinds of things for ourselves. Don't get me wrong, I do believe self-love is important. When you do not love yourself the right way, you tend to settle for less than you should. So, yes, love yourself. Yes, buy flowers if they brighten up your day. Yes, you are enough.


What I am trying to say is that we were put on this Earth to have a partner. We were created to love and procreate in order to keep the world going. There is something special about a handwritten note, a random flower delivery, a dance in the middle of the kitchen. This can only come from a partner. Not just any partner, but the one that makes you smile and your heart beat a little faster.


So, as much as I enjoy blasting these songs and dancing along, I don't want to get lost in the "I don't need anyone" mentality. Guess what?? No one NEEDS anyone. We can all do this on our own. But to want someone and have them want you, to have them talk for hours and hold your hand...that right there is a beautiful thing.


With Valentine's Day approaching, everyone is in a different boat. Whether you are married, single, celebrating with your kids, or going out with friends, try to do something special for someone to brighten up their day.


" This is my commandment, that you love one another as I have loved you" -John 15:12

Single Post: Blog_Single_Post_Widget

Thanks for submitting!

bottom of page