top of page

One Decision


One decision that changed everything. My grandma always says that my great-grandfather knew that they had to get out of Cuba. He knew things were going to go bad. He, along with my great-grandmother, decided to send their 2 youngest daughters on the Pedro Pan flights not knowing if they would be able to see them again, My grandmother and great grandparents later boarded a boat in the middle of the night and took the uncertain trip to the United States. They made it. Because they made it, we made it.


Would I have been able to make that decision? Would I have sent my kids on a plane alone? Would I have boarded a boat with my husband and daughter not knowing where we would end ? I don't know. I don't know and I will never know because I will never be faced with that decision. They made that choice and because of them, I am here. Because of them, my mom and aunts were born in the United States with endless opportunities. Because of my Abuelo Pasito, my Abuela Herminda, my Awewi, and my Papa I will never know what it means to sacrifice all I am for a better future.

My great-grandparents had a prosperous life in Cuba. My Pasito built a beautiful future for his 3 girls. My grandma was studying to be an architect. I hear stories of the incredible Cuban scenery and delicious fruit. I heard all about their family beach vacations and the playful atmosphere. All of a sudden, 1 decision, 1 decision that changed their future and mine forever.

I can't thank them enough for making the choice to leave. I can only imagine how difficult that must have been. I can't help but wonder what my life would be like if they didn't make that choice. What if they would have stayed? What if they would have believed the government? What if they wouldn't have taken the chance? I would be there, Maybe marching through the streets with my fellow Cubans. Maybe starving. Maybe sick with no care. Maybe dreaming of what an American life would be.

I am here, but I know if that one decision hadn't been made, I would would be there. I stand with the Cuban people. It is our choice. Our choice to make one decision that could change their life.

Single Post: Blog_Single_Post_Widget

Thanks for submitting!

bottom of page